Franco Galvão and his Lineu Bravo guitar

The musician got to know about the luthier Lineu Bravo through teachers and musicians of a music school in Rio de Janeiro


Foto: Paula Poltronix

Foto: Paula Poltronix

Franco Galvão, who purchased a Lineu Bravo guitar in 2015, got to know about the luthier through musicians and teachers of a music school in Rio de Janeiro. Only then, he realised that João Bosco, Guinga, Marco Pereira and other important artists also had a Lineu guitar.

Franco left a testimonial about his guitar made by the luthier Lineu Bravo:

“The guitar made by Lineu rocks! I was recording at Rainbow Studio, one of the greatest jazz studios in the world, when the sound technician praised the guitar, saying that it had a lot of amazing information of strong bass tone. He said that the instrument was ‘high level’! He came to that conclusion by listening to the sound of the guitar on a very expensive Sony speaker. That means he was sure it was a good sound.”

About Franco Galvão Career

Franco was a percussionist, and then, a member of a group called “Bateria Alcalina” (2009-2013). Since 2009 he’s been a member of the group “Bloco Cultural União Altaneira”.

In 2014, he won a prize called Prêmio Nabor Pires (3rd place). In 2014 and 2015, he produced an event called “VII Encontro de Choro da Unicamp”. In 2019, he recorded an album named “Espera” in partnership with Fernando Sagawa. Franco also has a degree in Business Science.

About Lineu Bravo

Lineu Bravo is an autodidact luthier and fond of good music. From an early age he developed intimacy with wood at his father workshop. He built his first instrument when he was 14. Since then, his guitars, ‘cavacos’, mandolins and ‘violas’ have been purchased by respected musicians. Guinga, Marcus Tardelli, Zélia Duncan, Marco Pereira, João Bosco, Yamandú Costa, Chico Buarque, Ulisses Rocha, Hamilton de Holanda, Ângela Muner, Rogério Caetano, Maurício Carrilho, Luciana Rabello, João Lyra, Maurício Marques, Edson Lopes, Alessandro Penezzi, Juarez Moreira, Fernando César, Jayme Vignoli, Flávio Apro, Giacomo Bartoloni, Swami Jr, Rosa Passos, Ana Carolina, Zé Paulo Becker, and Douglas Lora are some of them.